Javelina Jundred – Team JW is Coming Together

Sunrise in Javelina, photo from Davy Crockett's Running Frontier Blog

We are five months from Javelina Jundred and I am starting to get serious about my planning. Funny thing is, all this time I figured I would be doing the adventure alone. Turns out, I was wrong.  Apparently, my running family kicks even more ass than I realized.

Coach? – Check.  Bryon Powell has been my coach for 9 months.  He has never steered me wrong.  We have met or exceeded every goal so far.  I trust him completely to get me to Javelina healthy and prepared.

Pacer? – Check.  My fabulous partner, Carrie, comes through again, signing up to join me on my adventure as pacer and crew.  I didn’t even have to ask.

Training Partners? – Check x5. Carrie will start training with me in earnest after she recovers from her June IronMan.  Craig and Kevin both signed up to run long runs with me.  When I get to my 30-40 milers, they agreed to tag team.  Tobie, my cool neighbor who will be joining our ultra-freak club this August with her first 50K, has agreed to join my middle-of-the-night runs (Carrie has too).  My friend Stacy, a talented but injured runner (and funny as heck), has offered to provide aid on my longer training runs.  And I quote her text, “If you need someone to bring you goodies on the long runs, just let me know.”  You don’t have to offer twice; I accept. Every one of these generous friends just volunteered.  And I repeat, my running family kicks ass.

Family Support? – Amen.  Wouldn’t be anywhere without it.  My husband wanted to come, but we decided it was too much for the kids.  And, as Tobie said, “How do you think your kids will react when you hobble in at 3AM and then hobble back out?”  Good point.  However, the fam is fully supportive and on board.  In fact, we are all going to my July 50 miler together.  OK, so it is at Lake Tahoe.  But still… it is lovely that they are all coming.

Go team JW!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s so cool that the JW Team is coming together, and so early in your training. I’m looking forward to seeing you your training runs go, especially the night runs. I have a feeling your going to do awesome at Javelina!

  2. runrunrunrun says:

    Thanks, Brian! Gonna be interesting. Looking forward to seeing how I do too.

    JW

  3. Paige T. says:

    Woohoo!! Your first hundo, right? Javelina is such a great race and a really good one to do as a first. Very runner friendly and the scenery is top notch. I crewed my guy there last year, volunteered at the Jeadquarters for 8 hours and then paced him the last 40 miles of the race…I was beat, but I got a good dose of Javelina and I’d totally add it to my list of to-do races 🙂 Make sure to wear gaiters…I had about half the desert in my shoes after each loop! And, train for heat (obviously), it was HOT during the day for those running!

    So excited for you, congrats on getting it all together!

  4. runrunrunrun says:

    Thanks, Paige! I am excited too. Nervous, but excited. I may email you for advice when it gets closer. I am worried about nutrition. Good tip on the heat and the gaitors. Thanks!

  5. Paige T. says:

    I’m here if you have any questions! Since they hold the race during a full moon, we found that we hardly needed our headlamps once it got dark…the moon was SO bright! There was just one rocky section a couple miles in on the counter-clockwise loop that was easier with a headlamp, but the rest of it was awesome to run with just moonlight 🙂

  6. Just wanted to check in and see how the training is going. I’m going to be running JJ100 as well, and am meeting a few other people out there. I’m getting excited and I’m sure you are too!

Leave a Reply

