Parting Shot of 2009

Carrie and JW at the finish line of the 2009 North Face Endurance Challenge 50M, December 5, 2009

My racing year has come to the end, and what an outstanding year it was.

Final race, The North Face Challenge 50M in San Francisco.  Final race time, 11 hours, 46 minutes, and change.  It was such a fabulous, memorable event that I am not yet ready to write about it.  I am still getting my mind around what I did yesterday. How could so much up (+10, 731′) and down (-10, 731′) be so fun?  How did I run 50 miles, and stay strong the entire time?  Maybe I will do a race report later, or maybe I won’t.  I still have a lot to process.  All I can say right now is that is was amazing and I loved every minute.

And so, here is my parting shot from 2009.  My training partner Carrie and I had just crossed the finished line, our third finish to cross together this year.  Looking at my smile in this photo, I think I can truly claim that I am an ultra-marathoner.

An unexamined life is not worth living, as they say.  Over the coming holiday down time, I plan to examine this year and prepare for the next.  In the meantime, I did take a look back at my 2009 running resolutions.  There is so much more behind these than checking the box.  Each line represents hours and hours of dedication and hard work, stories both funny and frustrating, decisions made for better or worse, and most importantly, life-shaping experiences.  They are just bullet points on a blog, but to me, they are also a year of my life.

These were my goals for 2009:

Resolution #1 and #2: Add speed to my endurance.  Run a half-marathon and marathon PR.

  • Done (50K PR 5:36), done (half-marathon PR 1:41) and done (marathon PR 3:44). To top it off, I will be heading to Boston in 2010.

Resolution #3: Run at least 3 ultra marathons.

  • Done. In fact, I ran 5.

Resolution #4 and #5: Explore how to give back more to the community.  Become an RRCA Certified Coach.

  • Done and done. I volunteered at races, was an assistant race director, supported an amazing organization called REACH, and became a certified RRCA coach just one week ago.

Resolution #6 – Launch “The Runner’s Bookshelf”.

  • Not so much.  I put the plan together, created a web site, and tested the waters.  Turns out, nobody seemed to bite.  So I “shelved” the idea.  No pun intended.

Now for 2010….

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Paige T. says:

    Congratulations on your 50M finish…and great job! That is a tough, tough course!

  2. Cynthia says:

    Congratulations on a great race and a great year! Amazing!

    I’m really happy you are pursuing your dreams now and your training is going so well. Having a supportive family and career and stable life make this possible. I’m looking forward to hearing about your adventures in 2010. Maybe I’ll recover someday and can get back in the game.

  3. runrunrunrun says:

    Thanks, ladies! Cynthia – you will be back! I think about you at least once in every race. Paige – you have had a stellar year too! Well done! – JW

Leave a Reply

