Giving Thanks… Runner’s Style

I am thankful for being a runner.

I am thankful for being alive.  It’s a gift from God, and I don’t take it for granted.

I am thankful that God has given me the ability simply to run.  It is not guaranteed to always be there.

I am thankful I have made the choice to hone that ability through dedication, hard work, and mere passion for the endeavor.

I am thankful for a family that loves me and grants me the freedom to run far and often.

I am thankful for my partners who make me stronger, inspire me to go longer, and provide hours of good stories along the way.

I am thankful that I was born with an active mind and an active body.

I am thankful running calms my mind and provides an outlet for my body.

I am thankful for gloves, arm warmers, hydration packs, and the people who invented them.

I am thankful for the people who take it upon themselves to create running communities, organize races, coach, feed, support, and say, “Keep it up!  You look strong,” even when you don’t.

I am thankful for the breathtaking hilly place where I live.  It provides a never-ending painting of rich colors, scenery and characters.

I am thankful for being a runner.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Margie says:

    Julie, I am so proud of you. What a huge accomplishment.
    Love,
    Margie

  2. runrunrunrun says:

    Thanks, Margie!!

    Love you!
    Julianne

  3. Jennifer says:

    What a great proclamation! Beautiful post!

  4. runrunrunrun says:

    Thanks, Jennifer! How nice of you to say so!

    Happy Holidays,
    Julianne

Leave a Reply

