Product Review: Nike LunarGlide Road Shoes

I have been running in my brand new Nike LunarGlide road shoes all week and I love them!

This is saying a lot.  I have worn only Mizuno on the road for the past 5 years and I have never liked a single pair of Nike.

Here’s what Nike says:

The shoe’s entire design is specifically shaped to accommodate a woman’s foot, from its dynamic Arch Bridge for enhanced stability to the wedged carrier construction for unprecedented cushioning with dynamic strike management.

The women’s LunarGlide+ also features a patented Dynamic Support system that adapts to you, your foot and even the various parts of your run to provide just the right amount of cushioning and support.

The system instantaneously adapts to each and every foot strike, so if you need more support near the end of a long run, you’ll get it. It also adapts to the needs of each foot individually, so you’ll no longer be forced to compromise the support you need or the cushioning you crave.

Here’s what I say:

The shoe is great;  very light, 9 oz., and extremely flexible.  The minute I put them on, I forget all about them.  Isn’t that really what you want in a shoe?  You don’t want to keep adjusting laces or noticing little issues.  You want to lace up and go.

The cushioning and support system actually seem to be a breakthrough, at least as far as I can tell.  It really does adjust throughout my run and stays comfortable the entire time. I have done every variation of road run in these shoes: long, short, slow, fast, easy, hard, flat, hilly.  My feet felt great every time.

I am an overpronater who needs some stability and this shoe fits the bill.  While I have loved my Mizuno Wave Inspires for years, lately my feet have had aches and pains.  The last few pairs have left me wanting.  I wonder if it’s because I run so much more than I did when I started with Mizuno or if the slight tweaks have had a negative impact on me.

It’s priced right!  At only $100, it’s a great deal.  I will pay up to this amount, but I usually have to buy last year’s models.  This is a debut line with Nike’s brand new Dynamic Support engineering.  Fantastic.

The LunarGlide looks super cool!!  OK, so maybe this isn’t the primary goal of a good running shoe, but it doesn’t hurt!

Will this shoe work for you? No idea, but I highly recommend it! And so does Runner’s World, who awarded the Nike LunarGlide it’s “Best Debut” honor in the August 2009 issue.

Congratulations to Nike.  Well deserved.


3 Comments Add yours

  1. Cynthia says:

    Sounds very nice! Maybe they would help out my old tired feet (actually just one foot has the problem).

    My foot continues to ache after running and doesn’t seem to be getting better. Besides calf stretching and massage, do you do anything else to keep your PF under control? I actually resorted to icing after the run tonight- never had to do such things before. I don’t want to have to take a break, but I may have to if it doesnt get fixed soon…

  2. runrunrunrun says:

    Hi Cynthia,

    A couple thoughts. Do you have custom orthotics? I think you do, but thought I’d ask. The ball of my foot was hurting and my PT realized I had done something weird with my orthotics when I put them in my newest shoes. I hadn’t even noticed. It was embarrassing! He thinks I was just squishing my toes. He fixed it and slowly but surely the pain has gone away. For Plantar issues, I do a lot of work to keep it under control. I wrote a post on it once. https://neverstoprunning.wordpress.com/2009/01/11/plantar-fasciitis-and-the-lessons-i-have-learned/. Also, I went up a half size with my shoes and that seemed to help too.

    And, of course, I have changed shoes. Love the Nike and using the RocLite from Inov8 for the trails. Love those as well.

    Hope that helps!
    JW

  3. Cynthia says:

    Thanks. That post about PF is pretty useful.

    I probably really needed to give my foot more time to recover after the initial injury back in May. I’m cutting back a little to see what that does.

Leave a Reply

