What’s Next?

The Skyline 50K Takes Place Around Lake Chabot in Castro Valley
The Skyline 50K Takes Place Around Lake Chabot in Castro Valley

Well, this weekend my friend Carrie and I are running the Skyline 50K.  A last minute addition to my calendar, I had the jones for another ultra before the end of summer.  Luckily Carrie is known for saying, “I’m in!” Total elevation gain/loss is 4758, which isn’t bad at all.  It should be fun.

Next month I hit Top of Utah with my friend Kim.  I was super lucky to run with her a couple weeks ago.  We got to chatting and realized we both have the same Boston qualifying goals.  Like Carrie, Kim is known for saying, “I’m in!”  She signed up the next day.

View from the Bizz Johnson Trail Marathon
View from the Bizz Johnson Trail Marathon.

In October, I am hitting Bizz Johnson, my first pure trail marathon.  My frequent advice-givers, Craig and Kevin, call it one of the most beautiful marathons they have ever done.  Again, Kim is in, along with her daughter, and maybe our friend Allison.  I am really looking forward to it.  If I get the Boston thing out of the way in Utah, I am going to simply enjoy.  I’ll bring my camera and take photos along the way.

Two weeks following Bizz Johnson is the Silicon Valley Marathon.  I have run it two years in a row and managed to get my two best times.  It’s impossible to pass up since it’s literally down the road and I know the entire course. I plan to do it again this year as a lead up to the North Face Endurance Challenge 50-Miler in December.

Marin Headlands - Home of the North Face Endurance Challenge 50M
Marin Headlands - Home of the North Face Endurance Challenge 50M

I am totally stoked!  It travels throughout Marin County along trails I know, like the Dipsea, Stinson and Muir Beaches.  Not sure I’ll have company with this one, but no matter.  Being alone is equally enjoyable.

What an exciting second half of the year!  I can’t wait.  I just turned 37 and I am thrilled with the progres I have made.  Since turning 36 last July, I have actually placed in a few races, run my first 50miler, and become an honest-to-goodness trail runner.  I think I have done it all without sacrificing family, friends, or work.  What a blessing!  Love it!!

Leave a Reply

