AR50 Interview – 15 Hours Later

My husband interviewed me the morning after AR50 in our hotel room.  Funny to listen to his non-running perspective.  Not sure this will interest anyone but my son, Morgan, who helped me post it, and my mom.  Anyway, here you go.

Click the “HQ” button for better quality.

.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Cynthia says:

    Charming! and beautiful jacket!

    Yeah, nonrunners don’t get it- 50k is way different from a 50miler!

    He’s right that the memory of pain is somehow suppressed. We women do that all the time with childbirth and I don’t hear the men complaining!

    Consider Firetrails 50 in October. It’s much hillier than AR50, but the second half is net downhill, so it doesn’t seem so bad.

    Did you swell up (legs, ankles, weight gain?) Just curious if your body responded that way.

  2. runrunrunrun says:

    Hi Cynthia

    Thanks 🙂 I did swell up afterward for about two-three days, specifically my hands and legs. Even my son noticed. He said, “Mom, I have never seen your legs look so big.” I had to explain to him what happens when you are on your feet that long and how all would be well in the world in a few days.

  3. Cynthia says:

    I think I was up 5 lbs after Firetrails. And Rooster said she was up 14lb(!) after Coyote Two Moons (but that race is just crazy).

    I’ve been working on a post about hydration effects from exercise. I’ll get it posted eventually. The hormone changes from running are really fascinating.

  4. runrunrunrun says:

    14lbs!! OMG. I can’t imagine. That’s crazy!

  5. Cynthia says:

    here’s her posting about the aftermath and recovery. http://roosterruns.blogspot.com/2009/04/hardrock-training-starts.html

    She’s an awesome runner!

  6. James says:

    NICE! Love the video! Do let us know when your next 50 miler is 🙂

  7. runrunrunrun says:

    Thanks, James! I will 🙂 Do you have any recommendations?

  8. James says:

    I’m only familiar with some of the ones out here on the east coast.

    I plan on doing this one in Virginia 2010

    Probably a little out of the way for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

