Running in Singapore

I just returned from a lovely business trip in Singapore.  What a beautiful place.

East Coast of Singapore.  I didnt get to run here, but I did get to eat Chili Crab here.
East Coast of Singapore. I didn't get to run here, but I did get to enjoy some fine Chili Crab on these shores.

I stayed at the fabulous Mandarin Oriental hotel on the harbor.   With one exception, I ran five miles early each morning.

Seeing that Singapore is on the equator, it is extremely hot and humid, even before dawn.  Having said that, I enjoyed each run very much.  The main route I took introduced me to the sites and sounds and smells of the Singapore River, with all the brilliant architecture — representing old and new — that surrounds it.

The other route I took immersed me in the unique, charming and plentiful artwork that is sprinkled between the modern high rises and lush parks of the business district.

One gift of running is that you explore the world differently than other people.  It is a true gift to slowly unwrap a city, wandering down alleyways and around hidden curves that others don’t see.

I ran so early that I passed a half dozen sleeping rickshaw drivers a day. Today, Rickshaws are to Singapore what Carriage Rides are to Central Park.
I ran so early that I passed a half dozen sleeping rickshaw drivers a day. Today, rickshaws are to Singapore what carriage rides are to Central Park.

Singapore, my friend said, is “Asia-lite”.  I think she is right.  In fact, I felt very much at home while experiencing the Asian color, life, culture and people.

I ran the Esplanade Bridge, everyday.  The Esplanade theatres are behind it.
I ran the Esplanade Bridge everyday, one of numerous bridges that cross the river. The Esplanade theatres are behind it.

Over my short 5-mile runs, I saw many Singapore landmarks including the lion’s head fountain that protects the Singapore River, the famous old-style Raffles hotel, numerous Chili Crab local joints, water taxis, colorful artwork, and dramatic sculptures.  It seems when you are in one of the smallest countries in the world, everywhere you go is meaningful.

I think I could live in Singapore.  Although, considering the five mile runs were a struggle in the heat, I am not sure I could be a marathon runner there.

Leave a Reply

