The rules of the road

  • Don’t do anything different than you did on your long runs
  • Don’t eat or drink anything new
  • Remember, the race begins at mile 20
  • Don’t go out too fast!

 ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

“For the first 3-4 miles, go ten seconds slower than your marathon pace.”

The words from my friend Craig guided me like Jiminy Cricket, yet I ran too fast.  Constantly checking my Garmin, I told myself to slow down.  My legs didn’t listen.

There was more rule breaking.  I have a story about my breakfast that I will skip.  There is another about what I drank.  Everything that seemed right in the moment looks wrong in review.

It is the classic marathon story.  I was on my way to victory… until mile 20.  I watched as my Garmin mocked me, my legs stalled, and my goals s-l-o-w-l-y slipped away.  At mile 21 I had roughly 43 minutes remaining to run just over five miles.  At mile 22 I could make 3:47, not enough for Boston, but enough for joy and happiness.  By mile 23 I was wondering if I would break my PR.  By mile 24, I knew I would not.

I came in at 3 hours and 56 minutes.  I was a full 11 minutes off my target time and four minutes off my personal best. 

Truth be told,  I loved every gut-wrenching, disappointing moment.  I ran 26.2 miles on Sunday!  I gave it my all and was completely and totally physically and emotionally exausted as I crossed that finish line. I could hardly hold back the tears.  I placed 564 out of 8425 women.  I cracked the top hundred in my age group.  In short, it was awesome!  I have never run a marathon that wasn’t.

– rest day, duh-

 

Leave a Reply

